New to the Hurling Bug

Discuss anything hurling-related here. Ask for help, discuss design concepts, show off your work, it all goes here!

New to the Hurling Bug

Postby JimL » Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:57 pm

It's in the administrative for some reason?
JimL

Re: I posted in the wrong spot?

Postby JimL » Sat Jun 28, 2014 11:59 pm

New to the Hurling Bug

Postby JimL » Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:27 pm
It all started just before Easter when I decided to make a Floating Arm Trebuchet to launch Easter eggs. I am not an engineer or a carpenter so needless to say my eager task was not completed in time. I did complete the frame and sling arm and it functions very good. In a matter of understanding sling and release mechanics I made a "stave sling" or stick sling. I quickly realized that was all I needed to launch my Easter eggs. We were hurling baseballs, lacrosse balls and tennis balls 200 feet and beyond with them. At this point I employed the assistance of one of the most intelligent engineers in my industry to help design a large scale FAT to chunk pumpkins. My desires are somewhat simple in comparison to the extreme distances that can be achieved. I wish to hurl an 8-10 pound pumpkin 300 to 450 feet. I really would wish to have a completed trebuchet operating by the beginning of October and worry that the engineer will not have my design ready in time for fabrication before that point due to his busy schedule. So I was thinking of getting a standard counterbalance trebuchet made in time for this years season. My desires are to use aluminum 3"x5" square due to the rust resistance. But I am not opposed to using steel I-beams to cut cost? I plan on using a 12 foot trailer to transport the trebuchet and act as the base support via leveling legs. Beyond that I need lots of help, maybe simple help to folks that know the specifics to hurling objects 300-450 feet. First question is can it be done within the scope I discussed? Second is how long will the sling arm need to be? And last